Valentines Day With The Kids


Valentine’s Day is coming up and I have been trying to think how my hubby and I should celebrate this year now that we have a baby. So I did a little research and this is what I came up with.

Day time with the Kids

 Valentines is a great Holiday for kids to enjoy with mom and dad. Here are some activates you can do with your kids.

Start a Tradition

Start Valentines out by making your family heart shaped breakfast. You could do something different every year but keep the theme the same. Hearts.

Bake

 Cupcakes are always a hit with kids. So making Love themed cupcakes is something I am sure they will enjoy

 Make valentines for each other

 This is always fun and the kids love it

Teachable moment

Make valentines not only fun but educational. This is great if you have older children. Teach your kids about the legend of St. Valentine and how Valentine’s Day came to be.

Valentine’s Day After Dark

 Celebrating Valentines with kids can be difficult to do but not impossible. Try to send the kids off to bed a little early to give you and hubby some extra alone time. While one of you is putting the kids to bed the other can begin setting up for your night of love.

Write Love Letters

One thing hubby and I have always done is write love letters to each other. It’s something you can keep to look back at. As a child I remember my grandma showing me a box that she kept and in it were all her things she collected over the years. Some of these items include: a lock of her hair that she gave to my grandpa when they started dating and also some love letters. I remember thinking how cool it was that she was showing this to me. I guess the love letters just always stuck with me since then.

Walk Down Memory Lane

Take out old photo albums and reminisce about the days when you were young and had just met. Look at your wedding photos and remember one of the happiest days of your lives together.

 A Fancy Meal

 Who has time to cook a fancy meal for your love when you have small children? This year hubby and I are going to get take out and bust out the fine china. Lights some candles and wahm you have a beautiful fancy dinner with no cooking required. I hope that these Tips for Valentine’s Day help you out and if you try any let me know and tell us how it worked out.

🙂 Happy Parenting

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. motherofwonder
    Jan 30, 2012 @ 12:30:22

    love it! My kids love valentine’s day! So we celebrate for like a week… mainly where the kids and I are making crafts during the week to mail off to loved ones. and then valentine’s day we make as many heart shaped foods as we can! I don’t mind sharing the valentine’s day things with the kids- they’re a product of our love and relationship, so they’re part of it too!

    Reply

Leave a comment