What Kind of Parent Am I?


So I have been seeing a lot of post about attachment Parenting on my Facebook feed lately (can you tell what kind of facebook friends I have). While I like to think I am a natural parenting kinda gal. I know I am not an attachment type of parent. Don’t get me wrong I have friends who practice that style of parenting but it’s just not for me. I got to thinking what kind of parenting style do I practice?

So I hit the internet to find my parenting style. I read Blogs, took parenting style test and looked up definitions. This is what I found:

Turns out I am not just one parenting style. I am a mix. but my main foundation for my parenting style is Authoriative parenting.

Authoritative Parenting

Authoritative parents, also called ‘balanced’ parents, establish rules and guidelines, and children are expected to follow along. However, these parents are usually more responsive to their kids and more willing to listen to questions and negotiate. They are distinct from Authoritarian moms and dads as they’re more forgiving and nurturing, particularly when their children fail to follow the rules or meet their expectations.

The result? Children of Authoritative parents are the happiest, most capable and successful of the bunch!

I knew I was an authoritative parent in fact I knew before I had kids (thank you college psych classes). I wanted to know what modern day style I was, I mean there are so many styles: attachment parenting, crunchy, silky, tiger, emotional coaching parents. I mean the list goes on, but which one was I? So to find out I had to look up some definitions.

Emotion Coaching

“Come sit with me and we’ll talk about

how you’re feeling right now.”

Emotion Coaching parents value sharing emotional times

with their children.

To Emotion Coach, parents need to use empathy. Specifically,

these parents try to put themselves into their child’s shoes.

They show an understanding of their children’s emotions and

Guide them in their behavior. Emotion Coaching creates a

foundation for strong, healthy, trusting relationships.

Emotion Coaching takes practice. Every emotional event is

different and Emotion Coaching needs to be flexible. None of

us can do it all the time, but the more we can take the time to

help children work through their emotions, the better.

Children with Emotion Coaching Parents tend to …

Learn that feelings are important and can be trusted.

Learn how to name certain feelings and begin to understand

why they feel the way they do.

Learn that they are not alone with their feelings, and that they

can bring their wide range of emotions to their parents with

confidence they will beloved and comforted.

Learn that all feelings they experience are OK, but not all of

their behaviors are OK.

Learn how to solve the problems life brings.

Learn to calm themselves down when they have strong

Emotions so they can concentrate better at school.

Learn about their own feelings and the feelings of others,

which helps them form strong friendships.

Tiger Parenting

a strict or demanding mother who pushes her children to high levels of achievement, using methods regarded as typical of child rearing in China and other parts of East Asia

Crunchy Parenting

Mother who supports homebirth, breastfeeding, baby wearing, cloth diapering, co-sleeping, gentle discipline, etc. One who questions established medical authority; tends to be vegetarian and/or prepare all-organic foods. See crunchy and hippie.

(http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=crunchy%20mama)

Silky Parenting

Modern mother who prefers medicated hospital birth, bottle feeding/part time breastfeeding, disposable diapers, crib sleeping, etc. One who follows the advice of established medical authority; often tend to be working moms who rely on modern products for convenience and time management.

(http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=silky%20mom)

So I definitely am an emotional coach parenting style in fact while reading that I kept thinking I so do that on every point in the description

But I knew that wasn’t all  to my style of parenting and came a cross the term Scrunchy parenting

Scrunchy Parenting

A mix of silky parenting and Crunchy parenting

So that’s what I am a Authoritative, emotional coaching, Scrunchy mom. Leave a comment and tell me what you are.

 

Happy Parenting 🙂

 

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Melissa Naiad
    Apr 18, 2013 @ 07:33:38

    That’s some great info. Authoratative parenting sounds like a lovely way to raise children.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

